Console Design Best Practices

I am new to ON24 and my biggest challenge is good console design for attendees.

I have seen some others talk about the challenges with the responsive design and how things get moved all over depending on the attendees screen resolution.

If anyone would be willing to share your experiences, best practices, and maybe even screenshots of your consoles, that would be great.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi John!
The biggest issue we had was with the CTAs. The size of the tool box isn’t the same size for the images we decided to use in it. Additionally the button has to be made by the ON24 functionality (not as part of the image). That also threw off the size of the image my creative team has to make each time. So, we played with it until we were happy. Then I created the attached screenshot which we can use as a guide for all of our webinars.

The Chat and Email are minimized (if even on) when we start the webinar. However, if you set it up in a certain place, when the person maximizes the tool, it will go to wherever you set it (cool!).

Another couple of pain points are: 1) there is no “Snap to Grid” function and 2) you can’t shift the boxes using your keyboard. It’s all mouse work. While the Align tools are HEAVENLY, if you click on the box and move your mouse even a micro amount, it will shift the box. #Frustrating.

One more thing, for each tool, I always have to remember to go into the “Attributes” to change the hover state of the buttons in the dock (along the bottom) so it matches whatever my button says. I am terrible at remembering this so I’d suggest adding a reminder in any sort of task list you use!

Anywho, happy answer any questions if you have them!

~Jaime

2 Likes